This I can guarantee.

Posted on January 18, 2010

3


If everything else that I love in life decides to abandon me, I will always have my Freaks and Geeks DVD collection.

No, it is not natural to become so emotionally attached to a one season-long TV show shot in 1999, but you would understand if you’ve seen it. It is brilliant. It might be perfect. I love it so much that the title of this blog is an homage to it.

In 42 seconds, here is why:

For those of you deprived, unenlightened souls, Freaks and Geeks was shot in 1999-2000. It aired on NBC for one season before it was canceled. It portrays the lives of two groups of friends at a Michigan high school–the freaks and the geeks–in 1980. It centers on siblings Sam and Lindsay, a geek and a freak, respectively. Judd Apatow (Director of The 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up/Writer of The 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up, Pineapple Express/Producer of Anchorman, The 40 Year Old Virgin, Talladega Nights, Knocked Up, Superbad, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Step Brothers, Pineapple Express/The Man/My Hero) is essentially responsible for the show and for starting and restarting the careers of most of the actors in Freaks and Geeks and his subsequent projects. You might have heard of a few of these people, like James Franco, Seth Rogen, or Jason Segel. I bet you’d at least recognize the rest of the cast; that is, if you aren’t at so much of a loss as to how this show has escaped your grasp and undivided attention until now. How NBC could have canceled this show so soon baffles me, given its cult following and its sheer glory.

Then again, look at the mistake they’re making with Conan.

Posted in: Apatow-Mania