SHE CANNES DO IT!!!

Posted on February 17, 2010

0


Those of you who have checked my ‘book recently might have seen that I was accepted into a study abroad program at the Cannes Film Festival this May. This is not only exciting because I get to spend a month on the French Riviera, but also because this program has been like a dream for me. When I told my good friend Kristen about it, she said something along the lines of, “Oh my God. That’s like you in the form of a study abroad program.” Duly noted, Kristen. The program is going to have two classes, one on film reviews and the other on film marketing, which are essentially the two dream careers to which I aspire. Like Kristen said, me in a study abroad program.

Among film festivals, Cannes is one of the most popular. It plays a big role in international cinema; some of the year’s biggest films and some of the best international films that 99.6% of you will never see premiere there. Also, it’s always star-studded. Like…

 

BRANGELINA GON’ BE THERE! I say this with a grain of salt, of course, because I have no idea as to whether or not Brangelina will actually attend. I assume, however, as they are supermegainternational stars, they will be there.

And…

TIM BURTON GON’ BE THERE! The strangest m-f in the film industry (director of Edward Scissorhands, Beetle Juice, that sketchy Charlie and the Chocolate Factory remake and the upcoming Alice in Wonderland) is this year’s head judge.

Who else gon’ be there???

R-PATZ!!!! jk. lolololololol. no… he probably will, but if he is, I might opt out of the program. I hate everything about this man. Mainly because he has something to do with Twilight.

 

In 2007, one of my favorite movies, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, premiered at Cannes and won awards for its direction and cinematography. Here’s a trailer (just because you should see it):

Clearly, it belongs to the category of “best international films that 99.6% of you will never see.” But it is both incredible and exemplary of the quality of some of the films shown at the festival.

Cannes will put me among the ever-growing multitudes of college students who blog while abroad. I’d like to think, though, that you all will find my blog particularly interesting. It’s awesome enough when I come to you from Athens, GA… imagine how awestruck you will be when I pen (bear with me) my words from across the pond!

So, while celebs parade the red carpet, I will struggle to pry and negotiate my way into film screenings. My pass makes me a virtual amoeba on the entertainment industry food chain but, have ye no fear, I will fight the good fight!

And I’m sure I’ll have plenty of stories to tell.

